Priority Enrolment Areas

1. Definition

Each ACT public school gives priority to the enrolment of children living in its Priority Enrolment Area (PEA). ACT public schools are non-selective.

2. Frequently Asked Questions

The FAQs for Priority Enrolment Areas provides detailed additional information on PEAs.

3. Schedule of PEAs

A detailed map of PEAs for 2015 can be found on the Allhomes website External Link. To use the Allhomes map tool:

  1. Scroll down the Allhomes screen until you get to the options section.
  2. Select 'ACT Public School Zones'
  3. Select one of 'Primary Schools', 'High Schools' or 'Colleges'. This will bring up a new layer on the map.
  4. Zoom in and out of the map using your mouse or blue arrows on the left.
    Clicking on the school or information icons provides information on the school or shared Priority Enrolment Area.

3.1 PEAs for 2015

To find your local school refer to the suburb look up table. PEA information is also provided in text form.

Suburb lookup table for 2015

The following information shows the schools which serve each suburb. Some parts of some suburbs cannot access all the listed schools due to certain suburbs being spread across a number of PEAs (refer to Allhomes map for more detail). This general guide should be viewed in conjunction with maps and tables relating to specific schools. This guide does not include Early Childhood Schools, Special Needs Schools and the Kindergarten to Year 6 French program at Telopea School as they have no priority Enrolment areas.

PEA descriptions by school for 2015

The pages provide information about school or college linkages with suburbs or parts of suburbs:

3.2 Summary of changes

4. Potential PEA changes under consideration by the Directorate

Potential Timing: 2016
Potentially Affected Schools: Future Coombs Primary School and Duffy and Curtin Primary Schools
Potentially Affected Suburbs: Coombs and Wright
Description of Potential Change: The new primary school in the suburb of Coombs is expected to open in 2016.
Residents of the suburbs of Coombs and Wright may be given priority enrolment status at the new school in Coombs.

Potential Timing: 2018 to 2019
Potentially Affected Schools: Future Moncrieff Primary School and Amaroo School
Potentially Affected Suburbs: Moncrieff, Jacka (part) and Taylor (future)
Description of Potential Change: When the new school opens in the suburb of Moncrieff,
it will provide priority enrolment status to Moncrieff, part of Jacka and the early stages of Taylor.

5. Contact Details

If you require further assistance or clarification on the priority Enrolment areas please refer to the contact details below. Please note these contact details are for information on PEA boundaries only. Any issues about entry requirements should be discussed with the school concerned.

Telephone: (02) 6205 4865